The Second Reproduction

Yay for another otome! I love otomes, and I can never get enough of them. Please do recommend me some otomes so I can devour them. Nom nom nom.

This time, it’s The Second Reproduction (TSR), in which you’re a playing as a princess that embarks on a dangerous mission to slay the evil Demon Lord – or not? Well, you should get the idea. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And your handsome knight in shiny armour stubbornly tags along despite your protests.

Sounds like fun.

In a world where demons and humans both inhabit, Princess Christina Ranzaad is told that demons are evil and they ought to be annihilated. She is suddenly given a secret mission by her mother, to slay the Demon Lord, Gardis.

It may sound funny that a princess is actually doing the dirty work instead of sitting somewhere, sipping tea, and enjoying life, while her sisters are being married off to weird kings to forge healthy diplomatic relations, but Christina isn’t your average princess. Who says princesses can’t wield swords and fight demons too? Now now, that’s a stereotype. Christina is a Champion – Champions are titles given to human warriors, that are looked up by the masses and are said to be upright.

So off the pretty princess goes alone to face the Demon Lord head-on… or not? Such a dangerous mission is kept under wraps – the secret is shared only between Chris and her mother. However, your ย knight / childhood friend / best friend / the character I like the most can read your expression perfectly and knows exactly when you’re telling a lie (not that you’re very good at it anyway). He’s noticed something strange going on and decides to stalk you at night, just when you’re leaving for your mission. Perfect timing!

He’s vowed his love his obedience to you but stubbornly tags along despite your initial protests because he wants to protect you (and obviously doesn’t want to be apart from you, but as usual we have our dense heroine who doesn’t realise anything). Oh well, poor Lezette.

*melts*
Lezette is filled with mushy lines like this but our poor heroine doesn’t understand anything nor does she realise his feelings for her so she treats it like what a knight would say to a princess, or what a best friends would say to each other. Oh, poor knight! He’s making things so obvious but his love is unrequited. Sigh. I would really like to hear someone say that to me one day.

And I proudly announce my love for Lezette and the fact that I’ve taken too many screenshots of his mushy lines so I shall make a separate post for him. I am not ashamed of being in love with a fictional dude.

Alright back to the post. So off Lezette and Chris go to the Demon Lord’s kingdom! Their journey is filled with excitement! In a barrel! Yay!

I have confidence in my readers that they know what’s happening. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Let’s fast forward things a little, or this post isn’t going to end.

They finally sneak into the Demon Lord’s castle and into his room, but both Chris and Lezette find themselves no match for the powerful Demon Lord Gardis. Chris is also surprised to find herselfย mesmerizedย by a stunningly handsome man who’s said to be the evil Demon Lord! Are all demon lords this good-looking? Well then, I’ll gladly abandon my mission~

Well, I was just thinking how foolish their actions are, because if they were to face head-on with Gardis (assuming there’s no element of surprise or anything), they wouldn’t win… He has magic, and they have, well, swords. I wonder why they never thought of that. But then again, come to think about it, attacking with the element of surprise might seem a little underhand.

Unfortunately, they were defeated by Gardis without much apparent effort from the powerful Demon Lord. Well, what more could you expect? Just when they thought they were going to die right there and then under the hands of Gardis, Gardis doesn’t kill them. The Demon Lord has taken a liking to this determined pair of humans, and decided to…

Keep Lezette as a pet!? At this point of time, please tell me it isn’t just me getting weird thoughts from this. Hmm.ย Gardis uses the strong bond between the princess and her knight to keep both of them in his kingdom, so they can entertain him.

Both Chris and Lezette is bewildered by Gardis’ weird actions, wondering why he didn’t just kill them instead, because that would be so much more convenient. They tried to assasinate him countless times after that, but realise that they’ve got no chance of winning at all. Zero.

Despite Chris’ and Lezette’s many attempts at killing Gardis, Gardis is entertained and treats them nicely like guests – something they’re not used to, so they think he’s got something up his sleeves.

While spending your time in the castle, you meet an overly-friendly man that works closely with the Demon Lord. He’s so friendly that it’s almost creepy. Let’s just say that he’s shrouded in mystery.

Meet Jin.

Jin assists Gardis in his work and appears to be a very powerful demon. Jin is extremely efficient, looking at the amount of work he does. However, he never fails to put on a smile. A creepy smile, though. I wonder what lies behind that scary smile of his?

I’ll have to admit that I was a teeny weeny bit, just a lil’ bit, disappointed that he wasn’t a megane. I mean, would it hurt to have a megane in the game? >: (

His intimidating-yet-friendly smile sends shivers down my spine, and I kind of like it! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think I’m a masochist.

Okay back to Chris and her adventures with Lezette. They’re both allowed to roam the kingdom at free will, so during holiday nights, you can determine where Chris goes, and at times, who to go with, depending on whose route you’re on, of course.

There are also quests in the game, which just require you to gather items. Though these quests are not a big part of the storyline, the main ones actually alter the endings, so don’t ignore them (unless it’s on purpose).

And oh, pressing Esc allows you to enter the interface to check your inventory, relationship levels and whatnot. I only realised this after wondering how to save my game. ๐Ÿ˜›

A map would be given to you and you have to choose a location to go. Different locations have different purposes, but whenever an exclamation mark pops up, you should know what to do.

Time passes, and the time spent in the Demon Kingdom increases. While Chris explores the kingdom and interacts with the demons, she realises that the mindsets of humans are absolutely wrong. Demons are not the horrible and evil creatures depicted in books nor are they as fearsome as described. They are friendly creatures that mean no harm.

Humans are the ones that are going around brutally killing innocent demons, whether or not female or male, young or old, and burning villages, believing that their actions are justified, thus committing acts of sheer cruelty. They are blinded by their thinking that demons are bad and should be killed – that they forget about their humanity, in a sense.

At once, both Chris and Lezette feel extremely guilty. The killings of demons by humans should stop… but how?

Only you can determine the ending of the game! Whether or not you can protect the kingdom and change the mindsets of the people will determine whether or not it’s a happy ending. And if you complete the entire game, you can get a valentines special with the characters! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ That was my motivation in playing through the routes with bad endings.

Now let’s forget about all this drama and focus on the romance! ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s an otome with a good storyline. It obviously isn’t just love love love and more love in this game. Well of course that doesn’t mean that there’s no love in the game. There’s just a strong, separate objective, which was to save the kingdom and shed light to the truth, so it’s not that simple as to just stalking a guy. However, the gameplay is simple and getting a good ending is fairly simple too, once you get the hang of everything.

I would say it was good because it made me cry, during Lezette’s route. Although I cry rather easily, I am a simple person and I think games that make me cry have achieved their objective of evoking emotions in the gamers. That just makes them successful.ย I don’t know if I liked Lezette the most because I went for him first, but one thing I’m sure of: I’m in love with Lezette! And this simple fact alone convinces me that the game is successful – an otome game that gets you to fangirl over its guys have achieved their main aims.

The bgm is great too. Although it may get kind of repetitive especially when you’re playing again and again and again (I played seven times!), I feel that the bgm conveys the feelings of the atmosphere really well. No matter how repetitive the bgm sounded, I didn’t exactly find it irritating or anything so I guess it was alright.

And then there’s also the voice acting. Lezette’s one felt a little muffled (aka bad quality) when he shouts, which can get a little loud at times, but I don’t ask for too much – maybe because I’m plain biased, I don’t deny it. The rest were okay, though I felt that Jin’s ones could be done more creepily to send additional shivers down my spine. ๐Ÿ˜›

It was a really long game (although clannad still holds the record for the longest game I’ve ever played). There are twists in the game, though not really any major ones that blew me off my chair. It’s was a long but sweet game, I’d say. I loved it, and I love Lezette. I recommend everyone to play, but only when you have time, of course. Unless you’re only going for one guy, or only the happy endings.

Oh and I must apologise for not posting in such a long time, I’ve been really busy. I’ve actually just returned from Germany for a history trip. Wonder if I’ve any German readers…

31 responses to “The Second Reproduction

  1. I laughed so much while reading this!
    What a nice review, It made me love the game even more.
    Lezette is my favorite too โค

    Did you like the opening? I loved it.~

    I'm sorry for not being too expressive with my comments (I don't speak english but I can read it pretty well).

    • Yeah! The opening was good – after seeing many glimpses of the game in it, I had the motivation to complete every route ~~

      And yay for Lezette! I was sad he didn’t get an extra CG during the Valentines event like Gardis… but I guess that’s because Gardis is the main character. I wish they had a CG with Lezette and Chris during their wedding or something ๐Ÿ˜›

      Hehe thank you for reading! I’m glad to make you laugh. And don’t worry about your comments, they’re amazing just the way they are! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. It’s a great game. The first time I played it I went for Gardis<3. I think I'll go for Lezette next time, he's really cute~

    • Gardis is really charming but he just ain’t my type. I think his CGs are really well done though, Gardis and Chris look really loving in them — especially the last one. They’re too sweet together, I’m going to suffer from diabetes!

      I must admit that I enjoyed Gardis’ route more than I thought I would! Although his bad ending was pretty heart-wrenching. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      You should go for Lezette!! I’m not sure if he’s your type but he’s definitely my type. ๐Ÿ˜› I enjoyed his route the most, probably because he’s the first one I went for and the type of character I like. Is it just me or do you also have a mysterious attachment to the first character you go for in otomes?

  3. The second reproduction?

    DO THEY REPRODUZE TWO TIMEZ

  4. anyone know how to get the last cg?

  5. On Gardis’s route in the path to a good ending does Lezette die or anything or is that a bad ending?

  6. Great review ๐Ÿ˜€ I absolutely loved this game as well! Especially the twists. Gardis is definitely my bias (maybe because I’ve played him first?) and I’ve cried so many times through his route. Jin is really naughty naughty hehe.
    By the way, I’ve been so curious for a while now but you can play the valentine’s day special by completing all the routes? Is that the way you play it? D: Cause I haven’t been able to find out so I was panicking >.<

    • Hehehe I love Jin for that reason too. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Naughty guys ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Yes you can play the special event after you complete all the routes! Just head on over to Christina’s events page and you should be able to find the event there. ๐Ÿ˜€

      • hm How do i know the game i played until the end is already saved in case to get the valentine plans?

      • Wait so, do we have to get all the good endings AND the bad endings? Or just playing each of their routes once…?

        I just downloaded TSR and ohmygooo- I’m up to the barrel part… x3

        • BARREL SCENE! โค I had to control my squeals cuz I was playing the game at night. ๐Ÿ˜€

          You don't have to get the all bad endings, unless you'd like to complete the CG album and the collect the extras. ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Hi there ~
    I’ve been wondering about this game for a while now actually and I’m glad you did a post on this (^^) do you know who voices the characters? I desperately want to know because Gardis has caught my eye ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I’m not too sure about Gardis… but I think he sounds a lot like Sasanuma Akira. ๐Ÿ˜› That’s just me and my friend’s guess though. But I do know that Sakurai Kazuma voices Lezette! Read that somewhere. ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. I absolutely loved your review and I was wondering if you could recommend other otome games to me that are similar to The Second Reproduction (: I have tried (P)lanets and it is an amazing game! I actually wasn’t too fond of Re:Alistair++ so much but it was still good (: Please keep up the good reviews ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Aww thank you! I’ve stopped reviewing though, I wish I’d more time to, cuz I really do love writing (and ranting :p ).

      When you say “similar to The Second Reproduction”, do you mean by otomes of the same genre? It actually really depends, cuz there’s a whole load of otomes out there but otomes like (P)lanets and Re:Alistair are free ones so do you refer to the free ones? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

      If you’re referring to the free ones, I know Lemma Soft Forums is a good place to start searching. It’s a forum where creators share their visual novels and games.

      As for commercial ones (aka not-free ones), there’re not many out there translated to English, so if you can’t read Japanese, you’d have to either download a translator or read walkthroughs. If you like otomes with school-based settings like (P)lanets, Starry Sky is great! Hakuouki is also awesome if you’re a fan of otomes in the historical genre.

  9. Voice acting disappears after opening scene???

  10. yeah i’ve notice that sometimes they talk but sometimes they dont. D; it’s a little sad but i mean theirs not much we can do about it Q.Q except complain.

    But i must say i liked all three to be honest but i LOVE the demon lord more โค

  11. hey from germany
    I’m playing the game now and omg i love lazettes voice *melts*
    But gardis is naughty..i like that..so difficult to choose

  12. Gardis’s ending made me cry…but i loved the happy endings!This game was awesome

  13. the Second Reproduction savedata onegaisitemoiidesuka?

Leave a Reply

