Starry Sky

The long awaited Starry Sky review is here! Well, I wasn’t too enthusiastic about writing an anime review on this as I found the anime rather underdeveloped in terms of storyline, but wait, who watches Starry Sky for it’s storyline? Everyone’s here for the boys!

And partly because it was adapted from an otome game, I guess they couldn’t have ever proceeded on with a proper storyline with the girl with just one particular boy out of all 12 13 of them, could they? 12/13 of the fan girls (assuming each guy gets an equal amount of fan girls) would be hopping mad with anger right now. Especially with the large amount of endings you would be able to get. I’ll still do a review on this anyway, how can I possibly resist?

The main girl,  Tsukiko Yahisa, is the protagonist of Starry Sky. And yes, she is one fortunate girl, being the first female student to ever enroll at Seigatsu Academy, which was once a all boys’ school. Reverse harem.. Mmm, yummy!

Hi everyone, I'm Tsukiko Yahisa and this is a picture of all the boys that like me!

Well, maybe Tsukiko isn’t as fortunate as we think she is. If you noticed, most Starry Sky merchandise, pictures, or anything related, does not even have a glimpse of her in it. It’s just the guys. Well not like anyone watches Starry Sky for Tsukiko… wait, is there?

All the guys are related to Tsukiko in one way or another, for example being her long lost childhood friend or teacher or simply a new-found friend in this school or her admirer ever since the very first time he saw her a.k.a. love at first sight. I’m afraid this might be a little rant-ish so please bear with me!

Hope you don't fall asleep :S

The anime is split in different parts based on the guys and their horoscopes. So it doesn’t really have much of a coherent flow of storyline, but I guess this was for the fans. If you liked Aries, you’d most probably just skip to Kazuki’s episodes. If you are planning to watch the entire anime series, you’d most probably get bored at the episodes where they featured a guy that you have entirely no interest in. That was what put me off the most. Having no storyline was one thing, but the heavy focus on just one character is quite hard to tolerate. And there’s 12 guys in total, mind you.

But let’s not be too evil to Starry Sky. It gave us so many fantastic looking guys. The anime was alright on the whole because of the guys and the well-done artwork, but that’s pretty much everything that’s holding me back from stopping to watch the anime. Each parts based on the character was also alright(sorry I can’t find an alternative word), but I believe that it could’ve been better in the sense that they could’ve went deeper into each relationship instead of just touching the surface of every story and leaving you there hanging. If you’re going to focus on each character, at least develop some relationship. Instead the whole anime became an anime with many different storylines somehow mashed together linked together by a single girl, Tsukiko.

Perhaps they could’ve done the anime by splitting it into Spring-Summer-Autumn-Winter parts like the game, then maybe the storyline would’ve made a little more sense. That’s if it’s a must to split the anime into different parts. I would’ve preferred a proper storyline, but that wouldn’t be really feasible as Tsukiko would have to choose one guy out of all of them.

In the Starry Sky games, because you were controlling Tsukiko, it didn’t feel so bad when the guys crushed on Tsukiko, as it can be somehow or rather taken in the way that they’re crushing on you. In the anime, you can’t really control Tsukiko and it got quite painful as all the guys were crushing on her this time round, and it didn’t feel like you at all. I remember me and my friend were totally jealous of Tsukiko, but who wouldn’t? And she wasn’t particularly likable, she was just average, I guess. Just compare her with reverse harem girls like Haruhi from OHSHC and she’s completely pale in comparison – I didn’t even feel a tinge of jealousy in Haruhi’s case even though she’s got the whole club liking her.

But hey, I really enjoyed Tsubasa’s (Aquarius) episodes. In comparison to the rest of the guys, I felt that his was really well done, plus he’s so cute. I can still remember how I totally fan girl-ed in front of the computer. He goes around inventing things even in the Student Council room, and he lightens up the atmosphere with his self-made nicknames of everyone. He has a nickname for everyone! And they’re all really adorable and funny. Gah I really need someone like Tsubasa in my life right now.



Okay, I’m really amused at how Tsubasa’s got his arms up in every picture. I guess he has some fetish for putting his hand up in pictures, huh?

I liked the idea of applying horoscopes to guys, I think that’s really a brilliant idea to attract people to Starry Sky. I mean, you always see girls checking out the horoscope section in magazines, to find out their fortune, or their personalities etc. By applying this to guys, wouldn’t girls want to find out the guy that they would get based on their horoscope? Really a clever way to attract girls, like how they did to me. When I first heard of Starry Sky, instead of reading the synopsis, I went to find out which guy was my horoscope. Turns out I got Kazuki, yay! He’s so cute when he’s with Tsubasa. What’s yours?


Okay, I knew you would ask for this. This was my previous banner!

You should definitely watch Starry Sky, for the guys, I mean. Not because of the storyline or anything. But if you’re short of time and particularly biased to any guy, I’d recommend you to skip to the episodes that your favourite dude is in. You can watch a few episodes at the start and see if you like the flow of the story, and decide to continue watching or skip episodes. But I would encourage you to watch Tsubasa’s episodes, in fact I’d call it a must-watch, because he’s just so cute. Okay I’m biased. If he isn’t your type then I’m sorry! 😦

Well I have to admit that was a terrible review but I’m pretty sure you’ve seen worse out there. I’ve read reviews of Starry Sky’s anime and they were all pretty harsh… I hope I wasn’t, I didn’t say anything about this anime being bad, did I? Did I? Did I?

P.s. I probably wouldn’t do character reviews on Starry Sky because there’s just too many… I would love to do just one or two characters but that would be biased of me. Either do all or none. 😛

24 responses to “Starry Sky

  1. They’re all so gorgeous! 😀 Thank god for fanservice!
    Do you know if there’s possible to play the game online? I feel like I should play the game before watching (drooling) the anime 🙂

    • Welllllllll you can’t really play it online but you can download it. I’m sure there are many kind people online that are willing to upload the game! A simple google should do the trick~
      And there’s always the alternative of watching the videos of people playing the game(like video walkthroughs), but it hurts not to be the one choosing the options. 😛

  2. bryanna mahmoud lol :)

    AAAAHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LUV THEM ALL, MAN! TEEHEE 🙂

  3. waah!! starry sky ❤ the bishies are soo hot
    but my favorites are from uta no prince-sama!!
    xx utapri

  4. Nice review~ I love them all<3 . The guy corresponding to my horoscope is Kanata 🙂

  5. Wonderful Post. Thanks for the share.. looking out for more..

  6. i’m so very happy to watch it…>3

  7. it’s a master piece!

  8. hey what episode is tsubasa’s and mine is Kanakubo… what episodes are they??? I wanna watch them btw, cool review…^_^

    • If I can remember, Tsubasa comes out in episodes 3 and 4. I think there’s around 2 episodes per character, but most of the characters are interlinked due to the game routes, so you can expect to see them in another character’s episode.

      Homare? Oh, your character is best friends with mine! 🙂

  9. I am a newbie to blogging, tips pwease? =)

    • Umm I’m not very good at it either :X

      But I guess it depends on the style of your writing and your blog’s purpose? Blog design wise, navigation should be easy and you should probably categorise your posts for easy access and archiving. Make sure that your background isn’t too distracting either. Also, a header would be nice.

      If you’re planning to put music in your blog, I’d suggest you allow readers to manually click “play” to listen to the music rather than it automatically playing the first thing your blog is opened.

      Good luck! 🙂

  10. I just could not leave your web site before suggesting that I actually loved the standard info a person supply to your
    guests? Is gonna be again often in order to check out new posts

  11. could you please give me a link to download all the series of Starry Sky please, i REALLY wanted to play it but i can’t found the right link to download it

  12. Pingback: แกงค์หนุ่มๆ ชวนจิ้นฉบับสาววาย! | Ookbee

Leave a Reply

